Our story

Our Story

Our history

Our vineyards

New Zealand postcard-1.png

Our vineyards

Aotearoa (said “Ow-taya-rowah”) is the name of New Zealand in Maori. It means Land of the Long White Cloud - it’s long and skinny, pretty and green… and is home to some amazing spots for growing grapes. From the north to the south, New Zealand’s wine growing regions all offer something special. The top island is sub-tropical and down the southern end it can get pretty chilly! We source our grapes from New Zealand’s most renowned wine regions – Hawke’s Bay, Marlborough and Central Otago.

Hawke's Bay postcard

Hawke’s Bay

Hawke’s Bay is a real suntrap, perfect for growing our award-winning Syrah, Merlot, Malbec, Albariño, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay grapes. Its growing conditions have been compared to Burgundy and Bordeaux in France with hot, dry growing seasons making for red wines packed with red fruit flavours and whites that are tropical with a dash of natural minerality.

Marlborough postcard


Marlborough is the most famous wine region in NZ thanks to the incredibly unique style of Sauvignon Blanc it produces. But there’s a lot more to Marlborough than just crisp, fresh and zesty Sauvy! Its cool climate is turning out some pretty impressive Pinot Noir filled with red fruit flavours, citrusy Chardonnay and beautifully floral, aromatic Pinot Gris and Riesling.

Our favourite spot: It’s pretty hard to beat a picnic at our Matua Marlborough vineyard on a sunny day with a cool glass of Matua Marlborough Sauvy…

Central Otago

Central Otago.

We reckon it’s not going to be long before the world notices that Central Otago is the next big thing – especially with Pinot Noir. What's more, Matua is now the single largest producer of Central Otago wine! We select our Matua Single Vineyard Pinot Noir grapes from fantastic sites perched amongst the mountains. The region’s diurnal temperature extremes and dry autumns make for dark, brooding Pinot Noir with a unique flavour profile.

Our favourite spot: We’re keen on some of the smaller sub-regions in Central Otago, especially elevated sites near Lake Dunstan, nestled into the foothills of the mountain ranges.

We use cookies to personalise content, tailor and measure ads, and provide a better browsing experience. Read our Cookie Policy, or Manage Your Cookie Preferences to learn more. We have recently updated our Privacy Policy. To review the latest version, please click here.